Separation of Concerns

It’s seemed to me for a little while that the fifteen word film reviews I’ve been writing on this blog don’t really fit in with the rest of the content. They feel too short compared to everything else, and WordPress feels like way too much infrastructure for writing them. I love WordPress’ power and flexibility, but a lot of it seems to get in the way when all you want to do is quickly post a short paragraph.

I’ve been curious about Tumblr for quite a while, and seems like a good fit, so from here on out that’s where I’m going to be posting my short film reviews. They’ll on a blog called “Oh So Humble Opinion” which you can find here. You may also notice that this blog has a new element in the sidebar to the right, which shows the most recent of them.

You may also have noticed that I said “short” film reviews, rather than “fifteen word” film review just then. That’s because I’m boosting the word count to twenty five. After doing this for a while now, I’ve come to the conclusion that fifteen words is just too constricting. Too many times I’ve been unable to say what I wanted to without mangling my English. No more!

  1. #1 by Mat on September 13, 2011 - 10:57 am

    Your link is broke…

    • #2 by harveynick on September 13, 2011 - 11:01 am

      Thanks for the heads up. Apparently WordPress doesn’t like it if you skip the http:// bit. Something to do with their redirector.

  2. #3 by Bryson on May 14, 2017 - 6:41 pm

    I agree with you that New Orleans has a lot of pelatnsrioy, but I’m not sure I’d want to raise a family there. The book sounds interesting even with all the characters.

  3. #4 by dustin wilkes on May 17, 2017 - 2:39 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing for your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

  4. #5 by quote for insurace Irving, Texas on May 31, 2017 - 3:36 pm

    Ciao Licia, avevo già letto il racconto e ti faccio i miei complimenti. Semplice e divertente, sei anche riuscita a non infilarci nozioni di fisica troppo complesse, in modo che chiunque possa leggerlo senza perdersi dietro formule o concetti che richiedono lunghe spiegazioni. Infine, mi hai strappato più volte un sorriso, hai una vena comica che, per il momento, hai sfruttato poco nei tuoi romanzi.(Ps su Nashira: per la prima volta da quando leggo i tuoi libri, non ho la minima idea di dove tu voglia andare a parare… stupiscici!)

Leave a Reply

